, Vienna Section head Waiglein re-elected in a key position at EU level Third term as FSC Chair begins; has held the position since 2018

Harald Waiglein, Head of the Department for Economic Policy, Financial Markets and Tariffs in the Ministry of Finance, was re-elected Chair of the EU Financial Services Committee (FSC) on 3 June 2022.

Finance Minister Magnus Brunner is pleased: "The re-election of Harald Waiglein is, on the one hand, a personal honour for his work and expertise, but on the other hand it also confirms the excellent reputation of the Austrian tax administration. Austria thus continues to play a key role in European economic policy.”

The Financial Services Committee is a monthly meeting of the Council of the European Union, formed by high-level representatives from the Member States, the European Commission, the European Central Bank and the EU regulatory committees. The FSC works closely with the Economic and Financial Committee (EFC), particularly in the preparations for meetings of the ECOFIN (Council for Economic and Financial Affairs).

Waiglein will work with the board on cross-sectoral strategic considerations, contribute to the definition of medium and long-term strategies for financial services issues, and deal with central internal and external issues of the European financial services sector.
Harald Waiglein: “A strong, stable financial sector is the backbone of a functioning economy. The FSC works for a strong European financial sector and has overcome major challenges here in the past, for example in connection with Covid. I have no doubt that we will also master the current challenges, for example in connection with the war in Ukraine.”

Waiglein is also Chair of the Board of Directors of the European Financial Stability Facility (EFSF) and chairs the Risk Committee of the European Stability Mechanism (ESM).