Austria's postal market Up to 30 April 1996 Österreichische Post-Aktiengesellschaft was part of the federal administration and was a responsibility of the Ministry of Transport as “Post- und Telegraphenverwaltung” (PTV). As of 1 May 1996 PTV was outsourced from federal administration and became the stock company “Post- und Telekom Austria AG”.

In mid-1999 the company was split into Telekom Austria AG and Österreichische Post AG. 51 percent of Österreichische Post AG are the property of the Republic of Austria. 49 percent of the shares are traded on the stock exchange. The ownership rights are exercised by the Ministry of Finance via Österreichische Beteiligungs AG (ÖBAG). The Federal Ministry for Finance is the Supreme Postal Authority.

Since 1 January 2008 the Austrian Regulatory Authority for Broadcasting and Telecommunications (in German “Rundfunk und Telekom Regulierungs-GmbH” or “RTR-GmbH”) has been in charge of regulatory affairs of the postal services sector. Since 1 January 2011 the Austrian postal market has been fully liberalised in compliance with the requirements of the Postal Services Directive of the EU.

As the regulatory authority for postal affairs, the tasks of RTR-GmbH include, in particular:

  • Conciliation body (for more detailed information, see: Conciliation body )
  • Granting or withdrawal of licenses
  • Review of the tariffs for services in the field of the universal service, in particular for licensed services
  • Review of the General Terms and Conditions (GTC) for services provided in the framework of the universal service, in particular for licensed services
  • Tariffs and GTC have to be notified to the authority and can be prohibited by the latter.
  • Measures to ensure the universal service
  • Check of the admissibility of the closure of self-operated post offices.
  • Supervisory measures to ensure the universal service

Further Information